A blanket for a baby boy

IMG_1602

This past winter I decided to teach myself how to crochet…and learn how to crochet I did.

I am by no means an expert after just a few months, however I am thoroughly enjoying the whole process & I really find it quite relaxing. With that said, I am not fast, some women seem to be able to knock out decent size projects in an afternoon, but that is not me haha.

Today, MacroBoy & I got to meet a beautiful new soul who just decided to arrive 3 weeks ago. He was about a month prem but luckily I had already had the blanket finished so I was able to bring his gift along to our first meeting.

IMG_1609

The blanket was a pattern I learned from one of the first YouTuber’s I watched HappyBerry Crochet. I really like her simple and straightforward way of teaching. The general pattern is below.

You will need:
– You can use any yarn really but I used Bendigo Woolen Mills ‘Luxury’ 8 ply yarn in Cream, Citrus, Lotus, Aquarium & Slate
– 6mm crochet hook (the original pattern used a 5.5mm hook, however I just worked with what I have)
– Yarn needle and scissors (for finishing off the project & weaving in your ends)

This pattern is based on the size of the blanket I made & not the original pattern in the video

Row 1
Crochet 135 double crochet foundation stitches

Row 2
Ch2 (count as dc here and for every rown), TURN YOUR WORK, 1dc in next 4 sts, *ch1, sk1, 1dc in next st, ch1, sk1, 1dc in next st, ch1, sk1, 1dc in next 5 sts* repeat from * to * until the end of the row

Row 3
Ch2, TURN YOUR WORK, 1dc in next 4 sts, *ch1, sk1, 1dc in next st, ch1, sk1, 1dc in next st, ch1, sk1, 1dc in next 5 sts* repeat from * to * until end, ending last dc in top of previous ch2

Rows 4 – 74 (you can do as many rows as you like, I just did 15 rows of each yarn colour)
Repeat row 3

Row 75
Ch2, TURN YOUR WORK, 1dc in next 4 sts, *1dc in previous ch1 sp, 1dc in next st, 1dc in previous ch1 sp, 1dc in next st, 1dc in previous ch1 sp, 1dc in next 5 sts* repeat from * to * until end, ending last dc in top of previous ch2 – (165)

Fasten off your work & weave in all your tails.

And you are done!

IMG_1612 (2)

Super hero Sweepy in his blanket cape whilst taking photos

If you'd like, please leave a comment. I respond to all comments & love to know that you're reading & what you think of this little space

