Quilted Sunglasses Case – A learning experience

IMG_1648

I guess the post today is the exact reason why I wanted to start this blog in the first place. I am not perfect, at any time in my life & I suspect my sewing & crafting skills will also follow along this similar path.

Yesterday I spotted some really cute fabric with spectacles on it at Spotlight. I have been wanting to make a quilted sunglasses case for my good sunnies for quite some time. Now, don’t get me wrong, the Ray Bans did come in a beautiful structured leather case, but when I want to travel light, this is quite bulky & not ideal.

So this afternoon, after not really thinking about a pattern or the end result I went about making a quilted cover for my sunglasses.

IMG_1650

So, what did I learn?

  • I really need to think before I start a project (amazing I know).
  • I need to take better measurements of my sunglasses, I didn’t really take into account how high they are which means I didn’t make them wide enough. So this is now a cover for my case for my reading glasses. But, hey, that isn’t an entirely wasted project.
  • I didn’t really think about how to sew the lining & quilted exterior together at the top of the case opening & I need to figure out how to do that earlier than at the end when the project is essentially all sewn up.

IMG_1651

IMG_1652

Either way, it was still a fun little project for a Sunday arvo project. I will look to make a few improvements & make an improved case in the near future.

IMG_1656

IMG_1654

If you'd like, please leave a comment. I respond to all comments & love to know that you're reading & what you think of this little space

