3 weeks in

I’m 3 weeks into this ‘new’ life. I finished up work at the end of September & commenced my year ‘off’.

It’s been an adjustment & I would suggest it will continue to be so. The first week was all a bit odd & at times I actually felt quite anxious. The anxiety was so frustrating & I was really giving myself a hard time about it. Then I had a little ‘ah ha’ moment.

I’ve been working in a corporate environment with a boss & somewhat clear expectations day-in & day-out for over a decade now. So I would think it will take me more than a few days to ‘unlearn’ some habits & form some new ones. So I need to just chill the f’ out & let this change happen, embrace it & it will all fall into place.

As I expected, by week two I was sick with a head cold & then to top it off I got gastro (passed on from the husband via his nephew urgh). So week two was a little more stressful, as I still had deadlines for my contract work & I was still very much in recovery mode.

Now we’re heading towards the end of week three & oh my gosh, I really feel like I’m starting to hit my stride & it is a wonderful feeling.

My balance between contract work, gym & relaxing has been so good & I am super keen to keep that on track.

I think I’ll break my thoughts into those 3 categories to explain more:

Earning an income

I am really focusing on taking on & saying yes to as much work as possible at the moment & I will continue to do this until the end of the year. I have a weekly ‘earnings’ target through to the end of the year & it is very achievable with working about 4 days a week. The reason behind doing all the work now is very sound & this additional ramping up of work will allow me to take all of January off if needed. In the line of work I do, January is very quiet & it is likely there will not be any work for me, so I want to simply enjoy that whole month. One thing I know about me is, if I want to enjoy that month off, then I need to know I’ve earned the money already & it’s there & I can just go & relax.

I’m doing a full monthly budget at the start of each month & making sure that budget fits in with the funds I’ve earned in the previous month. That way I’m not chasing my tail & worrying about what I ‘need’ to earn to meet the budget. I think this will work well for us, but let me give it a few more months to really see.

At the moment my weekly schedule looks something like this:

Monday – Full day of work

Tuesday – Half day of work

Wednesday – Full day of work

Thursday – Half day of work

Friday – Half day of work

Saturday & Sunday – I’ll usually work one of these days

So it’s about 4 full days of work per week & often 1 day of that is preparing work for the following week to ensure I’m as prepared as possible. It’s a good system currently.

Health & Wellbeing

I feel like I’m slowly getting into a good space with my health & wellbeing & in particular making the right decisions around the best way for me to get my weight back down & still retain my sanity.

With that said, I think I’m about to enter into a crazy 6 weeks that may challenge my sanity at times. My gym is running a 6 week challenge, starting this Saturday & I am super excited to be a part of it. It will definitely be a real push for me & will encompass my eating, moving & provide me with a good deal of support that I haven’t sought out in the past.

It is going to be tough but I have big goals so I may as well get stuck into them with a big challenge!

Relaxation

Weeks 1 & 2 were just hopeless when it came to relaxation & self care – it simply didn’t happen. Week 3 has been much much better.

Matt & I have managed a breakfast date & half a day of leisurely shopping & I have carved out some reading time & a couple of sleep in’s which has been just what the body needed after last weeks sickness.

I still have a fair amount of work to do in this space but it will just take time to find my groove & let’s be honest, you don’t want to work too hard at relaxing haha.

Until next time,

Cal

 

If you'd like, please leave a comment. I respond to all comments & love to know that you're reading & what you think of this little space

